The Sacagawea Heritage trail loop.

1 Apr

I recently had the opportunity to ride the Sacagawea Heritage trail loop in Eastern Washington. It was a sunny lovely day after Easter with mild winds which made it an ideal day to ride. I brought my camera along for the ride that was so delightful that I plan on doing more distance riding here in the future. The loop can either be 18 or 24 miles long with several chances to add and extra 5 or 10 miles.

I was lucky enough to see a lama about five minutes into my ride. I was also happy to see others on bikes along the way. The only troubling chunk of the ride came on the Pasco side of the river coming up to the cable bridge, the trail has not yet been completed and so far as I can tell you are forced onto a busy industrial street for a couple blocks. There may be another route choice but it was not made clear simple adding detour instructions would be easy and very helpful.

Awfully lovely, I was pleased with all they’ve done on the trail which could be pretty useful for personal transport in the future.

2 Responses to “The Sacagawea Heritage trail loop.”

  1. Katherine April 2, 2008 at 6:42 pm #

    I’m excited that I found your blog today! It’s motivating me to start planning some new rides to explore. Last summer I rode part of the Banks-Vernonia Rail Trail for the first time. Perhaps this summer will find me exploring eastern Washington.

  2. Robin April 2, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    Wonderful! I have a soft spot for eastern Washington (since I grew up there). It’s beautiful in many places and why cycling infrastructure isn’t as great as Portland I sure appreciate the effort. More and more loosely drawn out cycle routes are being drawn together like Wine touring the Yakima Valley. You have to do a bit of poking around but you can find information about rides or ride ideas. Oh, and like eastern Oregon there are tons of puncture vines so be prepared.

Leave a comment