Puncture Vines and other things that arn’t funny at 25 degrees.

26 Nov

Well after several days with my family I decided to get go for a ride down by the Columbia river in Richland Washington.  I was excited even though it was terribly cold.  Basically I wanted to kick the butt of the girl I was about four years ago.  I headed out and was working my way towards WSU Tri-Cities when I got a flat tire.  If there is one thing Yakima and the Tri-Cities have in common for cyclist it’s goat heads,  I got about five miles out when it happened a flat rear wheel.  After I built a new wheel we skimped on the tire, I was afraid of this a friend of mine had gotten four flats in Portland with the same tire.  I had been considering replacing it but it seemed perfectly good.  but after that I walked to the closest open bike shop and got a new kevlar tire.  Lesson learned:  always have strong tubes and tires when riding in Eastern Washington and perhaps use that green goo as well.  If anyone has even told you any different they have never ridden here.

2 Responses to “Puncture Vines and other things that arn’t funny at 25 degrees.”

  1. Timo April 1, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    If nothing else, at least the goo for desert riding…

  2. Robin April 1, 2008 at 1:36 pm #

    After the fact it seemed like a good option. I recently went back with a set of armadillo tires and I didn’t have any problems. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

