Terribly frustrated, will I join the reflective set?

16 Nov

    It was dark and wet today.  It’s getting into that dark and rainy time of year and after an incident today I think I may be due for a rain jacket upgrade.  It was at the corner of NW 9th and Johnson, I creeped up to the stop sign turning left onto 9th from Johnson.  There where no cars at the intersection and although I did not put my foot down I was going slow.  As I proceeded left a black ford explored started t o turn left into the Post Office truck lot.  She was a good 10ft at least from the actual intersection.  She hit her gas to turn then slammed on her breaks when I entered the intersection.  Because she stopped I proceeded at which time she gave me two thumbs up for what she must have thought was my bad maneuver.  The problem with her side is that she had not come to the intersection and I could not see her because and SUV was in the way.  Secondly she wasn’t at the intersection so I wouldn’t have expected someone to turn 10ft or more back.  I don’t know what to do under this situation, I thought about talking to her but when I realized I could I was already too far gone.

The biggest thing I am wandering about is if a different colored jacket would have helped (I was using my lights even though it was 12:30).  If you’ve been reading for some time you may be well aware of my jacket tirade earlier this fall.  I opted for the better build jacket that was an unfortunate olive green.  I do like olive green but not if it’s causing me undue stress.

So today I find myself in a similar place.  So until they make awesome cycling jackets in my size I must choose which is more important dryness or visibility.  Not that that would solve all my troubles.

4 Responses to “Terribly frustrated, will I join the reflective set?”

  1. craigdurkee November 16, 2007 at 5:42 pm #

    always wise to be seen on your bike, get as colorfulas you can no matter how silly you think you look

  2. Robin November 16, 2007 at 5:46 pm #

    That’s pretty much where I am heading. I had taken to using my lights on over cast days but I think your right on making more adjustments.

  3. Seamus January 28, 2008 at 2:53 am #

    I wear one of those
    international orange
    reflective stripe
    road crew vest
    regardless what time of day
    it is.

    What'reyewlookinat ?

    They’re adjustable so you can wear one
    over your coat in the winter

  4. Robin January 28, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    Wonderful inexpensive advice Seamus. I found a bring red anorak recently that works pretty well but the craftsmanship is greatly lacking. I am getting to need a new bag too and thing I might get a yellow one. Nice photos too but the one you linked to is private.

Leave a Reply

