Cycling in the Apple Capital

22 Oct

Here is what I know so far The Yakima Greenway runs ten miles along the river.  The Greenway looks like a beautiful ride which I will try to fit in today the downside of this path it how removed from the core of the town it is.  Along the river there is also a mountain bike trail at Cowiche Canyon.  That being said I can find no information about bike lanes or any other kind of bike related infrastructure.  There are moderate hill most are no worse than any on Portland.  Many low traffic streets around the city but many dead ends as well as regular need to cross busy streets without the aid of a light.

This part of Washington is also know for it’s wine and encourage out of towners to come in for cycling wine tours but I know of no guided or mapped tours in this area.  As far as recreation goes There are two main events on Yakima.  The Valley of the Sun Triathlon, which is in it’s 25th year but is canceled for 2008.  There is also a relay race including road and mountain biking called the Gap 2 Gap.

As far as I can tell there are only two bike shops in Yakima.  Valley Cycling and Fitness which has been around for ages and the newer start up Revolution Cycles.  Revolution cycles proposes to be the “real” bike shop for cycles and seems to be involved in some community riding events.  The Chinook Cycling Club (note: there web site doesn’t full work with firefox) works on some rides with Revolution cycles and since they are at on end of the Greenway perhaps I will stop in.

So that’s Yakima Washington I wouldn’t recommend it but now you know.  I’ll tell you what the riding like when I take a break from my family.

5 Responses to “Cycling in the Apple Capital”

  1. jcalnan October 23, 2007 at 7:24 am #

    As I recall from surfing Yakima/cycling websites, there are some route maps of rides out toward Naches. There’s also the Yakima River Canyon, north of Selah. It’s fairly low-trafficked as I recall, and quite scenic in a Central Washington kind of way. A local charity closes the canyon one day a year for a fundraising bike ride.

    Other than the annual wine-bike-ride you mentioned, I do not know of any real effort to map out day trips by bike through the wine country. Unfortunate, as this could be a real draw for folks like me from the wet-side of the state.

    I’ve done more cycling on the backroads around Pendleton and Walla Walla, and find the area a nice change from western WA.

  2. Robin October 23, 2007 at 9:09 am #

    Thank your for the wonderful info! I have done a lot of riding around the Tri-Cities myself because that’s the area I grew up in. I figured since I was here I would look some things up.

    I also had a relative tell me that they are extending the greenway to Naches last night.

  3. Craig October 24, 2007 at 12:05 pm #

    Yeah, I grew up in Yakima and live in Portland now. Yakima has one bike lane that I know of, on the northside of downtown and it runs a few blocks. Erh, it’s a start.

    The Greenway is nice but it is one of those paths that can be difficult to bike when there are a lot of people out. Yakima used to have several bike shops but this has dwindled a great deal. A lot of road cycling is done out west of town in the Naches Heights area. A common ride is to go up Garretson’s Grade to Young’s Grade and back down.
    Commuting in Yakima can be a nightmare, but I really do miss being able to go on nice long rural rides just out the backdoor.

  4. Robin October 24, 2007 at 12:41 pm #

    I grew up in the Tri-Cities and Prosser so I do miss getting out in the wilderness myself. I’m mostly a road rider now but mountain biked 3-6 times a week when I was 19-21 before I moved to Portland. I even road over a rattlesnake on my mtb once. It’s a beautiful place and it seems there is more encouragement to ride in the city that there once was. There are some bike lanes in the Tri-Cities now and I even see people that look like they could be commuting. It seems things are improving but it’s nothing like it could be.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cycling in the Apple Capital · Wine Database - October 22, 2007

    […] Zaftig Girl on a Bike wrote a fantastic post today on “Cycling in the Apple Capital”Here’s ONLY a quick extractThis part of Washington is also know for it’s wine and encourage out of towners to come in for cycling wine tours but I know of no guided or mapped tours in t his area…. […]

Leave a Reply

