Check it well, check it often.

28 Sep

I had been having some trouble on my bike lately. the new saddle was comfortable I’ve been riding everyday for weeks and suddenly I was getting muscle fatigue sooner, much sooner. i was getting winded up hills that haven’t been a problem for some time now. Then Tuesday night I was leaving my neighborhood grocery store and noticed that my rear wheel was rubbing a bit on the break. I had just been across town and back for the second time that day and I was tired and hungry. That’s why I was at the store in the first place because i was to tired and lazy to make dinner. As soon as I realized my problems I felt much better. I had to fix it of course but it wasn’t me, I wasn’t the wimp.

I ate my dinner and when to sleep that night after making plans with a friend to help me fix it. He was buying an xtracycle at Clever Cycles off Hawthorne the next day. I would taking his bike home for him and he would look at my break, which turned out to be the rim which turned out to really be a broken spoke.

That’s right! I broke a spoke. He can true wheels but it was too late and the shops were closed. He was leaving town and I wouldn’t have the money to pay a shop to do it for several days (broke college student). Fortunately he had a spare rim that worked! We also fiddled with my derailleur and i can use all my gears again. Even with the heavier spare rim I am so much more speedy it’s amazing.

The moral of this story is check your spokes, check out the rest of your bike once a week or so and don’t for get to fill the tires. If you need to know how to do these things just ask me or google and we would be happy to tell you.

2 Responses to “Check it well, check it often.”

  1. Maximus December 20, 2007 at 5:41 am #

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

  2. Robin December 20, 2007 at 7:17 am #

    What part exactly. Maintenance, spokes?

Leave a Reply

